How's My Acting

Upload | Share | Network | Ask For Opinions

A year ago around this time I wen to a talent agency called city model and talent. They said it cost $400 for me to get my photographs taken but if I had my own they could work. They made me leave a down payment but I never went back for my photo session. Do you think they were a real agency because they said all the basic stuff about how they made a percent from your jobs. They said he photos were cheaper than other plAces to get them professionally done. What do you think?

Views: 103

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hmm this agency is pretty tricky, because I was in the same situation where I was going for an interview
with a talent agency called "Avenue Productions" in fort lauderdale, Fl and they said the same thing.
That they were going to provide me with a photographer that charges $350 but if I had my own photographer that would also be fine.Honestly, I don't think agents that do that are legit. Look for a sag franchised agent in your area on www.sag.org okay, because sag franchised agents are not suppose to offer you services like acting classes,provide you with a "specific" photographer, or ask you for upfront money. Chances are if they do, then they are getting a cut from the photographers earnings.And that's not good. Agents are only suppose to earn a small percentage of your commission when you book a job. This is how real agents make money. I never bothered with avenue productions, i ran for the nearest exit.This agent is probably a scam. Legit agencies are not allowed to do this.They have to follow the rules and regulations. Good luck:)
Okay,
So Nicolette is pretty much right, but if they suggest a photog don't automatically condemn them... they might legitly do great work. If they keep insisting THEN you have a problem.
400 dollars is pretty expensive, especially if you're not out of your teens yet.
there are definately places cheaper.

As for SAG.org there are still scam agencies that slip through the cracks. Word of mouth is pretty good. Ask around to see which agencies are good and which are fake.
The Better Business Bureau can help as well.
Google Better Business Bureau (your state here) and see what comes up about your potential agency

Heppy Trails!
My acting experience has only been limited to a few school productions, where I have always gotten the lead role. I live in the New York City area and I'm eager to start small and work my way up.
They are a scam. Never go with an agency that has their own photogs or coaches. Especially if they ask for money up front. They should be confident in their ability to book you jobs so that they can get their percentage. Alot of places will pic anyone off of the street & say you "have the look" & try & take your money. The younger the better, cause the younger ones have the eager parents ready to shove their kids into stardom, without reading the fine print. The younger you are, the more naive they think you'll be & will pull on your heart strings trying to get your hopes up so that you would happily hand over your savings. You'll just wind up with a broken heart, crushed dreams, & an empty wallet. Before you ever sign up with anybody, make sure you do your research & read reviews of people who have delt with the companies.
Best wishes
~Sasha~
CITY MODEL AND TALENT IS NOT! I REPEAT NOT a place i would refere anyone to around last year I wanted to go there and and begged my mom to let my join the agency, Its total crap because first of all there photographers and not a real agency, ended up getting scammed by them and never getting any work from them. Everytime I called to speak too the head of cmt (jack michell) he would say we are still looking or speak to jacquilline krenzel.the point is DO NOT GO TO CITY MODEL AND TALENT! you will get screwed over like I did.
I live in Brooklyn. New York.
Has anyone heard of these people:
http://www.actorsreps.com/ ?
My friend is going to meet with them soon and I want to doublecheck beforehand.
He knows about the if they ask for money, then run policy, but I don't want him to waste time if it's fake.
you should look at their agency status on better business bureau to see if their legit or on sag.org
if they dont pop up on bbb or sag i wouldnt go any further with them, to be on the safe side. I've never heard of that agency before. Also their site doesnt have a lisence number on it. They have to be lisenced to be autorized to work in the state,otherwise it's a scam.

RSS

What are they up to?

Anthony G posted a video

Devils Advocate Monologue redone

Share your videos with friends, family, and the world
yesterday
MaKeila Laree Gonzalez is now a member of How's My Acting. Say Hello!
yesterday
Calvin Scott and Reel Deal Studios are now friends
Friday
Reel Deal Studios and daniel are now friends
Wednesday

© 2012   Created by HMA.

Contact HMA | About HMA  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service